Duff Note Vibrator

I *LOVED* the look of this toy. The packaging was as you’d expect from a sex toy (naked woman in heels, looking suggestively at the camera), and a transparent window displayed the box’s contents perfectly, which is always a bonus – I like being able to see what I’m buying! Through the window we could see an attractive, vibrant pink, curvy, unusually shaped, hand-sized vibrator with an inbuilt plastic handle-loop. The handle piqued my interest immediately – I like unusual, good-looking toys, and often think vibrators would be better with a handle (my favourite vibrator is a Lelo Isla for this very reason). I liked the bright pink, bold colour, too.

Duff Note Vibrator. The Ringo amongst its more talented and sexy peers.

The vibrator felt great in my hand, and I really liked the soft rubber tip – infinitely preferable to those classic old vibrators made out of hard plastic. The box said ‘Sensitive and soft’, and the material the vibe was made of was certainly perfect for this. All in all, a very promising start – especially as the Pink Note packet included batteries and a sachet of lube!

But here comes the crunch: in action, the item was a great disappointment – like, HUGE. The battery noise was loud and promisingly powerful, and the seven different vibration settings sounded impressive. However, when we actually used the product, my husband and I were confused to find that the Pink Note vibrator was surprisingly…well, vibration-light! For example, I could press the vibrator onto the outside of my jaw, and although sonically the vibrations would be roaring in my ear, and I expected some serious teeth-rattling as a result, instead my teeth would barely feel anything: all very bizarre. In fact, the harder I pressed the Pink Note against my skin (anywhere!), the less vibrations I could feel. It was more like a vibration vortex, really!

But then when we re-read the packaging, not only does it state that this particular vibrator is ‘Sensitive and soft’, but it also says in many languages that it’s “For exciting foreplay and love games! Lies perfectly in the hand, stimulates love spots (eg: nipples, clitoris and testicles, etc) with its soft tongue and expertly stimulates vagina and anus”. This made a bit more sense, as like I said above, it didn’t work for rough play or hard foreplay, and definitely did nothing for clitoral stimulation. It worked best when applied very, very gently against the skin, so that it was more like a tickle – albeit a very loud one!

Ringo Starr: Out of all The Beatles, the least likely to make you hot under the collar…

One good thing the Pink Note did achieve was to make my husband and I think more about gentle foreplay, as the more gentle we were with this product, the better it seemed to work. My husband certainly liked it tickling his balls, although it was an extremely light tickle for the roar of the engine behind it – sort of like having the noise of a F1 car, with the performance of a Nissan Micra!

Yes, my husband and I were both frustrated by the Pink Note, as although the seven vibration setting sounded great, unlike usual vibrators where you can press the vibrator harder against you to get more of an effect, and this way essentially intuitively and reflexively choose how you want it to feel, with the Pink Note we were stuck with exactly the settings the manufacturers had made – there was no way of making the experience more intense. It was very frustrating instinctively applying the vibrator ever harder, and feeling even less than we had initially!

Plus, I always think that a sterile wipe or some sterile spray is an essential addition to any adult toy, and I never understand why manufacturers don’t include a small sample. Luckily we always keep sex toy disinfectant at home, so after a good clean, I showed the Pink Note to a girlfriend of mine, and she also loved the inbuilt handle and the rubber softness of the tip. So when in its ‘Off’ setting, visually and materially it looked and felt like a certain success to all three of us. Unfortunately, when actually ‘On’, it failed to deliver.

I wish I could recommend this item to a friend, as all the component parts are nicely in place, and I love the feel of the product as a whole, but until the vibrations are improved (and this is a vibrator, after all – even if it is aimed at foreplay!), I wouldn’t recommend it. Adding lube improves the Pink Note experience, as does using it during its pulse settings: the more constant vibrations may sound impressive, but they are almost totally ineffective – especially for use alone, as you would probably only end up more frustrated than you were when you first started your play!

From our experience, the best use for the Pink Note is for light things like nipple stimulation, and for super-gentle tickling of the testicles or perineum. As long as you’re using it for titillation and foreplay, and aren’t expecting the earth to move, then this is a nice warm-up toy for a couple to use as foreplay. And I use ‘nice’ slightly derogatorily.

Yup, the Pink Note has much scope for improvement. The idea is great, the shape fantastic, and the manufacturing materials spot-on. It just needs to be as forceful vibration-wise as it is loud! Come on Orion/ You2Toys, you have some very positive nuts and bolts for a vibrator here, and with a little more work you could make the Pink Note the ultimate adult ‘his and hers’ adult apparatus and shake us to our very foundations – so get cracking!

1/5 for effectiveness, 5 for appearance & materials

A version of this text appeared on the Sex Toy Testers website

Whilst writing this review, for once I didn’t listen to anything on Spotify, instead I listened to the Ireland Vs Wales Rugby quarter finals World Cup 2011 game playing on the TV in the background (my husband’s a Welshy. And they won!).



Leave a Reply

